If you have been charged with a DUI, you already know you are facing penalties – but what about the devastating effects of losing your license? One of the most dreaded penalties after a California DUI is the suspension of your license for a certain period of time. If you are convicted of a DUI for the first time in California, the courts will suspend your license for 6 months and ensure that you are taking a DUI program, as well as other penalties if they see fit depending on the circumstances in your case.

However, if you are under 21 and have been caught driving under the influence, Zero Tolerance laws will be harsh on you and could lead to an automatic conviction and license suspension. The same happens if you are over or under 21 and have refused to submit to a breath test.

At the time of your arrest, in many cases, an officer will give you an Order of Suspension/Revocation when your license is confiscated temporarily. Often, this order will include a temporary driver’s license that is valid 30 days from the issue date. But, as your criminal defense attorney, we understand how a DUI license suspension can put a damper on your life, which is why we want to help you understand how you can get it back.

Getting Your License Back 

When you have lost your license due to drunk driving, there are some steps you need to take. Of course, the first one is completing your suspension period and serve your prison sentence, as well as pay the reissue fee. Basically, you have to follow all the guidelines that were put in place for you to meet.

After you have completed a DUI program or submitted proof of your insurance, you will be able to get your license back. The court sees this as you meeting your requirements, so make sure that you are prepared to wait and go through the process, even after a first time DUI. Call us to find out how we can help you if you have been caught driving under the influence and need our help in California.