San Diego PCP Defense Lawyer

If you were arrested on a PCP charge in San Diego, California, you could face prison, steep fines, and other adverse consequences. You need an experienced criminal defense advocate in your corner fighting for your rights, freedom, and reputation. 

The San Diego PCP defense attorneys at Blair Defense Criminal Lawyers are here to help you fight your drug crime charges and clear your name. We have over ten years of experience defending people charged with drug crimes, DUIs, public intoxication, and other criminal offenses in San Diego, CA. 

Contact our law office to schedule a free consultation with our San Diego drug crime lawyers. We’ll discuss your situation and potential defenses that can help reduce or dismiss your PCP charges. You can call us at (619) 357-4977 or contact us online 24/7 to receive honest legal advice.

How Our San Diego Drug Crime Attorneys Can Help With Your PCP Defense

How Our San Diego Drug Crime Attorneys Can Help With Your PCP Defense

California prosecutors take drug-related offenses seriously – and a drug conviction on your criminal record can have lasting effects. It’s important to start fighting your criminal charges immediately to mitigate the consequences you could face. 

When you hire our San Diego criminal defense lawyers to help you with your PCP charges, we’ll: 

  • Evaluate the evidence against you and determine whether the prosecution’s case has any flaws or weaknesses 
  • Gather our own evidence to build a strong defense against your illegal drug charges 
  • Determine if the San Diego police violated your constitutional rights during your arrest, search, or seizure 
  • Protect your rights throughout your PCP case and ensure you’re treated fairly 
  • Take your case to trial if we can’t have your PCP charges dropped or reduced in a plea deal

It’s unwise to fight drug charges without the help of an experienced San Diego criminal defense attorney. Schedule a free case evaluation with Blair Defense Criminal Lawyers to get the representation you need and deserve. 

Overview of PCP Crimes in California 

PCP, known as “angel dust,” is a hallucinogenic drug that was used as an anesthetic in the 1950s. However, its use was discontinued in the 1960s due to its side effects, including mania, violent behavior, and irrational thoughts. PCP is now illegal for human use in the United States but continues to be illegally manufactured and sold.

California classifies controlled substances pursuant to a scheduling system, with Schedule I drugs having the highest potential for abuse (and no accepted medical purpose) and Schedule V having the lowest. PCP – or phencyclidine – is a Schedule II controlled substance, meaning they have a high potential for abuse and can cause severe dependence. 

There are various ways to be charged with a PCP crime in the State of California, including: 

Contact our San Diego PCP defense lawyers for immediate assistance if you’re facing any of these charges. 

The penalties for a PCP conviction will heavily depend on the charge. 

For example, if you were caught using or being under the influence of PCP, you could face a misdemeanor and serve up to one year in county jail and a $1,000 fine. However, if successful, you could reduce the sentence to probation or complete a drug diversion program.

A charge for PCP possession is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. If you have prior convictions for a serious or violent felony, you could face a felony charge. This could mean up to three years in jail and a $10,000 fine.

Possession of PCP with the intent to sell is a felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine. You can face up to 15 additional years in prison if the weight of the PCP in your possession exceeds a certain threshold. 

Transporting or selling PCP is a felony that carries up to five years in prison. The imprisonment can be up to nine years if you transported or sold the PCP across several counties. 

Manufacturing PCP is a felony chargeable by up to seven years in prison and a $50,000 fine. The penalty might be enhanced by an additional two years of imprisonment if a minor under the age of 16 resided where the PCP was manufactured. 

If you’re caught driving under the influence of PCP, your penalties will depend on whether you have prior DUI convictions. 

How Can I Defend Myself Against a PCP Charge in California? 

Different defenses may apply based on your charges and the circumstances of your arrest. 

The following defenses may be applicable in your PCP criminal case: 

  • You didn’t have control or possession of drugs
  • You didn’t know that the substance was PCP 
  • You lacked the requisite intent (e.g., you didn’t intend to sell the PCP or otherwise engage in illegal activity)
  • Police misconduct, including entrapment or an illegal arrest, search, or seizure 
  • Insufficient evidence, such as if law enforcement arrested you for DUI but didn’t perform a chemical test 
  • Chain of custody issues

We’ll evaluate every detail of your case to find weaknesses in the State’s evidence and formulate a winning strategy tailored to your situation.

Contact Our San Diego PCP Defense Lawyers For a Free Consultation

Are you facing criminal charges related to PCP possession? If so, contact Blair Defense Criminal Lawyers for assistance in preparing a defense that protects your legal rights. We work every day to help those accused of various crimes – including possession of a controlled substance – get justice and move on with their lives. 

Contact our San Diego PCP defense lawyers to get an experienced legal advocate to fight for you. We’re available 24/7 to listen to your side of the story, so call now to schedule a free, confidential consultation and begin an attorney-client relationship.